Make Friends With Pizza

Standard

Pizza is awesome.

When I was little, my parents would get pizza from the shop down the road and I would get a big bag of soggy chips because I didn’t like pizza.

I don’t remember a specific, catalytic event that changed all that, but by the time I was in high school I had developed what I called a ‘pizza stomach’ that allowed me to eat much more pizza than I could of any other food.

The Pizza Hut ‘five-buck chuck’ became my special occasion dinner of choice, their Super Supreme my favourite flavour.

More recently, with my migration to healthier eating, I developed a taste for ‘gourmet’ pizzas. Smoked salmon in particular.

As I get ever further into my home-grown journey, I have started to appreciate pizza as a medium for showcasing my produce.

My kids love what we call the Barbecue Pig Lovers’. This is much like a barbecue meat lovers’, except that all the meat is derived from pigs. Bacon, ham and salami are the staples.

The Elcarim Farm Special was created from all family-favourite toppings. Ham, pineapple, capsicum, salami and later things like sweet chilli sauce, chopped tomato and baby spinach.

Barbecue Pig Lovers' and Elcarim Farm Special

Barbecue Pig Lovers’ and Elcarim Farm Special

This evolved into the Harvest Special, with as many home-grown toppings as possible. Things like yellow tomatoes, greenhouse capsicum, silverbeet and zucchini. And don’t forget the goat milk mozzarella.

Tonight we have a twist on the ‘surf’n’turf’. Smoked salmon, roast beef, silverbeet and four (yes, count them, four) different home-made cheeses.

pizza

Sure, it’s a vanity pizza, but so what? It was really yum and just a bit decadent.

The base is almost as versatile as the topping. Actually, that’s a lie, but you do have a lot of options when it comes to pizza bases. I usually go a scone dough base, as it is quick and easy. Sometimes I make a yeast dough base in the bread maker. You can also use flour tortillas, mountain bread or sourdough.

You can put pretty much anything on a pizza. No more boring ham and pineapple for me. I am looking forward to experimenting with other toppings.

2 thoughts on “Make Friends With Pizza

  1. So I’m not the only one who didn’t like pizza as a child! I, on the other hand, can tell you the exact moment the pizza loving switch was flipped for me. I was about 7 cm dilated, in labor with my first child. I closed my eyes to relax through a contraction, and was flooded with visions of pizza. I have liked it ever since. Weird, huh?

Leave a Reply

